School building safety.

Authors: Senator Lindel Hume, Senator Pete Miller

Co-authors: Senator Dennis Kruse

Sponsors: Representative Robert Behning

Co-Sponsors: Representative Kreg Battles, Representative Shelli VanDenburgh


Establishes the division of school building physical security and safety (division) within the department of education. Provides that the division carries out certain responsibilities related to the school safety specialist training and certification program, establishing emergency protocols, and establishing guidelines for using professional services to integrate physical security improvements and safety practices in the construction, renovation, repair, or alteration of school facilities.