Regulation of e-liquids.

Authors: Representative Kevin Mahan

Co-authors: Representative Heath VanNatter, Representative Robert Morris, Representative Melanie Wright, Representative Thomas Dermody, Representative Doug Gutwein, Representative Randy Truitt, Representative Cindy Ziemke, Representative Chris Judy, Representative Mike Braun, Representative Sean Eberhart, Representative Wendy McNamara, Representative Cindy Kirchhofer, Representative Robert Heaton, Representative Jim Lucas, Representative Martin Carbaugh, Representative Ronald Bacon, Representative Dale DeVon, Representative Matthew Ubelhor, Representative Mike Speedy, Representative Don Lehe, Representative Milo Smith, Representative Robert Cherry, Representative Matthew Lehman, Representative Doug Miller, Representative Sharon Negele, Representative Sheila Klinker, Representative Vanessa Summers, Representative Terri Jo Austin, Representative Charlie Brown, Representative Sue Errington, Representative David Niezgodski, Representative Christina Hale, Representative Philip GiaQuinta, Representative Cherrish Pryor, Representative Jerry Torr, Representative Lloyd Arnold, Representative Bill Fine, Representative Julie Olthoff, Representative Timothy Wesco, Representative Michael Karickhoff, Representative Anthony Cook, Representative Greg Beumer, Representative Gregory Steuerwald, Representative James Baird, Representative Steven Davisson, Representative Timothy Brown, Representative Jeffrey Thompson, Representative Bruce Borders, Representative Kathy Richardson, Representative Daniel Leonard, Representative John Price, Representative Linda Lawson, Representative Donna Schaibley, Representative Dennis Zent

Sponsors: Senator Carlin Yoder, Senator James Arnold

Co-Sponsors: Senator Lonnie Randolph


Defines "e-liquid" as a substance that is intended to be vaporized and inhaled using a vapor pen. Requires a manufacturer of e-liquid to obtain a permit from the alcohol and tobacco commission before bottling e-liquid or selling e-liquid to retailers or distributors. Provides that the initial application for a manufacturing permit must include: (1) plans for the applicant's manufacturing facility; (2) a service agreement between the applicant and a security firm requiring the security firm to certify that the manufacturer meets certain security requirements; and (3) an application fee of $1,000. Provides that a manufacturer's permit is valid for five years and establishes requirements for permit renewal, including a $500 permit renewal application fee. Establishes requirements for e-liquid retailers, distributors, and manufacturers. Limits the ingredients that can be used in making e-liquids. Provides for the suspension or revocation of a manufacturer's permit and the assessment of a civil penalty against a manufacturer for a violation of the law. Provides that a retailer who knowingly: (1) sells e-liquid to a minor; (2) sells e-liquid purchased from a manufacturer that does not have a permit; or (3) sells e-liquid that has been altered or tampered with; commits a Class C infraction. Makes other unauthorized actions involving e-liquid a Class A infraction. Authorizes a permit holder to bring a civil action against an e-liquid producer that distributes e-liquid not approved for sale in Indiana.