State intervention in failing schools.

Authors: Representative Robert Behning

Sponsors: Senator Dennis Kruse, Senator Carlin Yoder, Senator Pete Miller

Co-Sponsors: Senator Earline Rogers, Senator Lonnie Randolph

Advisors: Representative Anthony Cook, Representative Jeffrey Thompson, Representative Rhonda Rhoads, Representative Terri Jo Austin, Representative Sue Errington, Representative Justin Moed


Changes the timeline, from six years to four years, for state intervention for a school initially placed in the lowest category or designation of school improvement after June 30, 2016. Makes various changes to the provisions relating to management of turnaround academes by special management teams. Provides that a school may not offer any item of monetary value to a student or the parent of a student in exchange for enrolling at the school. Repeals a provision relating to a correction of a disbursement of state and federal funds to the Indianapolis Public Schools for the 2012-2013 state fiscal year. Makes technical corrections.