Probate code study commission.

Authors: Senator Joseph Zakas, Senator Brent Steele

Co-authors: Senator Michael Delph, Senator John Broden, Senator Lonnie Randolph

Sponsors: Representative Eric Allan Koch


Establishes the probate code study commission (commission). Allows the commission to meet only during interim periods. Requires the commission to study and recommend to the general assembly changes that are needed in the probate code (IC 29-1), the trust code (IC 30-4), and other statutes affecting the administration of a decedent's estate, guardianships, probate jurisdiction, trusts, or fiduciaries. Provides for the governor to appoint nine members, each of whom must reside in a separate Indiana congressional district; for the governor to appoint two additional members who work in the trust departments of financial institutions; for the president pro tempore of the senate to appoint three members from the senate; and for the speaker of the house of representatives to appoint three members from the house of representatives.