Electricity suppliers' service areas.

Authors: Senator Michael Crider, Senator Douglas Eckerty, Senator Ed Charbonneau

Co-authors: Senator Jon Ford, Senator Carlin Yoder, Senator Jean Breaux

Sponsors: Representative Eric Allan Koch

Co-Sponsors: Representative Robert Cherry, Representative Cherrish Pryor, Representative David Ober, Representative Linda Lawson


Provides that after May 19, 2015, a municipality that: (1) owns and operates an electric utility; and (2) annexes an area beyond the assigned service area of its municipally owned electric utility; may not petition the utility regulatory commission (IURC) to change the assigned service area of the municipally owned electric utility to include the annexed area according to certain procedures permitted under current law. Provides that the prohibition does not affect a petition that is: (1) filed with the IURC before May 20, 2015, according to the procedures permitted under current law; and (2) pending before the commission on May 20, 2015.